Stepping out of my comfort zone

While out shooting for ‘Square Mile’ I’ve become aware of my tendency to stick to what is my favoured style of image. Architecture, with a fairly obvious perspective, vanishing points, etc. I tend to use the same angles, trying to fit everything in, to make a ‘nice picture’… a picture postcard type image, I suppose.

I’ve been trying to break away from this, by using more unusual angles, excluding any kind of vanishing point, and trying to achieve a more random ‘by chance’ kind of image.

This has produced several very interesting shots that I wouldn’t normally have taken, but I do have this nagging feeling that a viewer might look at them and assume that I’d dropped the camera, or pressed the shutter by mistake.

Author: Photos Things and Stuff

Study Log for Expressing Your Vision module, for BA (Hons) Photography Degree with OCA

Leave a Reply

